Paperless session

I followed through on my vow to use nothing but the iPad for an entire drawing session on Tuesday. I might have imagined it but I’m pretty sure I was working with greater speed and fluency toward the end of the session, which was kind of the idea. Practice makes perfect ‘n’ all that. It certainly didn’t do any harm to have the reliably drawable Kate modelling, either.

The app I used throughout, for those of you who’re into this stuff, was the excellent Adobe Ideas – now pretty firmly established as my favourite of all the drawing apps. It has nowhere near as many features as some of the established bitmap alternatives such as Procreate, SketchBook Pro or Brushes, but when time is tight this can be a real advantage. The toolset is pared-down to a few well-chosen essentials and the interface is very clean and intuitive. The scaleable, crisp vector art it produces also appeals to my own natural aesthetic. Highly recommended.

24Sept13-Kate@SCACx5

Leave a Reply

