Aardvark

Last Thursday was the artwork deadline for the next edition (#29) of the Directory of Illustration. My US agent, American Artists, always reserve a substantial section of the book and I generally take a page. This time round I’m just opting for a quarter-page in order to divert some of my far-from-limitless publicity budget towards more UK-centric advertising, something I’ve kind of neglected in recent years.

My page in the DOI is normally composed of several pieces of work culled from the previous twelve-months’ output, both commissioned illustration and occasionally personal work. This year however, I decided I’d like to produce something new especially for the Annual and managed to squeeze in the image below. Technique-wise it’s a mix of hand-drawn pencil line, Photoshop and Illustrator and I’ve made a special effort to work with a much more limited palette than usual – an approach I’m keen to pursue but that will fly in the face of all my established instincts. We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

