Water damage.

First posted Nov 23 2009

It was a week go that my hitherto reliable Canon Ixus 800IS became thoroughly ‘moistened’ while I was out walking. It was in its case, which in turn was inside my rucksack but this was evidently no defence against the almost biblical downpour that started shortly after we set out and lasted until long after we finally returned. Since then, the camera has refused to work. It won’t even turn on. A full week of ‘drying out’ has made not a jot of difference and so in view of the fact that repairs cost not much less than a new camera, I’m reluctantly having to contemplate buying a replacement. There’s an expense I hadn’t planned for…

While we consider this cruel twist of fate, let’s take a look at the poor neglected plants in the corner of my studio. Their continued survival is a miracle of biology. It’s certainly nothing to do with me.

Leave a Reply

